thoughts within me

Life’s scars

Posted on: October 4, 2016

I look behind me, over my shoulder,
at the distant speck I can hardly see,
from where I’ve come so far,
always kept my head low and obliged,
sneaked through the gaps I could,
naively avoided life’s scars.

But when I raise my head up and look,
at the war zone, the gun-firings and the fallen,
my eyes stare in horror at what I see,
at what I always believed to be fantasy.

Up till now my purpose has been to stay safe,
because failure hurts, and leaves a scar.
I’ve always wanted a simple life, a clean score,
never dared to stretch out and ask life for more.

I see scars many people carry,
some shamefully, some proudly,
but they all say the same when asked,
a scar may remain but its pain never lasts.

I dare to raise my head and look up again,
at the war zone, the gun-firings and the fallen,
I stay still behind the wall, few seconds more,
to witness the fallen stir up and ask life for more.

Leave a Reply

