thoughts within me

My own worst enemy

Posted on: February 25, 2015

The impending perils stare right at me,
but I look away and refuse to see,
time whispers that its ticking away,
If only I could beckon it to stay,

Luck tries to be my friend,
But gives up on me towards the end.
Dreams and wishes are now fairy tales,
I give up and stay down, once I fail.

No longer I am what I used to be,
Have I become my own worst enemy.

I look at myself in the mirror,
disappointed eyes look back at me,
I wonder what I ever lived for,
Breathing heavily I feel out of energy.

love makes me feel the hate,
My greed remains insatiate.
My fear keeps me alive for its amusement
While I live my days in repentance.

I burn in the fire of my own agony,
Have I become my own worst enemy.

Leave a Reply

