thoughts within me

I choose you for you.

Posted on: January 24, 2015

If I choose you for your beauty,
then who are you but a show-piece to me?

If I choose you for your wit,
then who are you but a delightful book to me?

If I choose you for your wealth,
then who are you but an ATM to me?

If I choose you for your heritage,
then who are you but a symbol of what once was?

If I choose you for your care and compassion,
then who are you but like a nurse to me?

If I choose you for your family,
then who are you but like my distant cousin?

I choose you for you,
the real, honest, self of your being.
No I’m not a saint,
or the devil with a hidden agenda.

I choose you for you,
in the hope that
you will choose me for me.

Leave a Reply

